Home

A perfect summers day awaited me at the Hackney Forest Garden for this second visit and volunteering day. I returned to give another day of my time to the team (all volunteers) who take care of the this tree nursery and forest garden.

Annie was busy giving some of the fruit trees a good water when I arrived. It hasn’t rained here in London for a while now so things are looking pretty thirsty and park lawns are turning yellow. The fruit trees all needed a good drink so while Annie continued with that and other jobs, she set me to work on wedding the nursery bed which was being overcome by bind weed.

 

My bike resting on a bench surrounded by trees and shrubs. It looks very happy here.

My bike resting on a bench surrounded by trees and shrubs. It looks very happy here.

 

The tree nursery bed, mainly full of cherry tree stock (from the London Orchard Project) being grown up slowly to be used as root stock. Bind weed was slowly taking over and beginning to affect the growth of the trees as it twisted around the on it's journey upwards.

The tree nursery bed, mainly full of cherry tree stock (from the London Orchard Project) being grown up slowly to be used as root stock. Bind weed was slowly taking over and beginning to affect the growth of the trees as it twisted around the on it’s journey upwards.

Bind weed is very good at wrapping itself around plants and can end up smothering them, so it's important to keep it at bay. The problem is that unless you collect up every piece of the plant it will just come back so it's a bit of a never ending task.

Bind weed is very good at wrapping itself around plants and can end up smothering them, so it’s important to keep it at bay. The problem is that unless you collect up every piece of the plant it will just come back so it’s a bit of a never ending task.

It's nice to see the trees properly once the weeds were up. The first row took about an hour! Luckily the sun was shining : )

It’s nice to see the trees properly once the weeds were up. The first row took about an hour! Luckily the sun was shining : )

A bucket full of bind weed. It needs to treated separately from other weeds as it's so prolific.

A bucket full of bind weed. It needs to treated separately from other weeds as it’s so prolific.

The after shot! It took a while but now the young trees will be free of bindweed for at least a week!!

The after shot! It took a while but now the young trees will be free of bindweed for at least a week!!

 

This weeding task took all morning as it takes time to unwind the weeds from around the trees and also when pulling, you want to pull up as much of the root as possible so taking care when doing this helps. Annie had asked that I pull up the bindweed and not to dig it up (when at home i normally follow the roots for as long as I can to collect as much as possible). This might have been between the mulch layer that is down to suppress weeds would be messed up by digging around, but i’m not sure exactly.

A lunch break in the sunshine and a few more tasks before I returned home to catch the last set of the Djokovic v Del Potro semi final at wimbledon. (I’m writing this a week late as last sunday was spent watching and celebrating Andy Murray’s amazing win!!).

While looking around while eating my lunch I could hear a sort of gnawing sound, which turned out to be this wasp making a house in this post.

While looking around while eating my lunch I could hear a sort of gnawing sound, which turned out to be this wasp making a house in this post.

 

I can't remember the name of this plant but it's leaves have a very strong peppery taste and looks very pretty with the yellow flowers too.

I can’t remember the name of this plant but it’s leaves have a very strong peppery taste and looks very pretty with the yellow flowers too.

The taste of the leaves reminded me of Wasabi peas I like eating at the pub!

The taste of the leaves reminded me of Wasabi peas I like eating at the pub!

Annie had been busy cutting more grass since i'd last been so we needed to do some more collecting.

Annie had been busy cutting more grass since i’d last been so we needed to do some more collecting.

A silly picture of my shadow  with a hay fork.

A silly picture of my shadow with a hay fork.

 

A feature of the Hackney Forest Garden site is a tire mound. I can't identify many of the plants in the mound but I think I saw some sage.

A feature of the Hackney Forest Garden site is a tire mound. I can’t identify many of the plants in the mound but I think I saw some sage.

The berry of a Juneberry plant are a really pretty red / pink.

The berry of a Juneberry plant are a really pretty red / pink.

 

We were collecting the grass from around the back of the site that has a number of very healthy looking apple trees.

We were collecting the grass from around the back of the site that has a number of very healthy looking apple trees.

A nice looking apple, not quite cooked yet, but looking good.

A nice looking apple, not quite cooked yet, but looking good.

 

Some pretty purple flowers poking out of the grass that hasn't been cut yet. I should really learn some more plant names!

Some pretty purple flowers poking out of the grass that hasn’t been cut yet. I should really learn some more plant names!

One thought on “Hackney Forest Garden: Day Two

  1. HiAlice, Your blog is quite poetic in parts.Enjoyed your latest. I know bindweed is a monster! Could the blue flower be a periwinkle? I liked your shadow picture too— very artistic. Most of my day has been spent dealing with the car. I had to leave it at the garage & walk home only to remember that my gizmo for opening the door was in the car! Fortunately next door were in & they have a key. I walked down again at 4 to pick it up. I shall sleep well tonight. Annie & Lucy have gone to Italy to see Nonnative who has gone into a home. Did you know that Will was at a do at Buckingham Palace last night? No more gossip. Off to water the pots now. A big hug G.xxx

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

