Home

With a lot of jobs in my own allotment mounting up and with a busy weekend with no room for allotmenting I spent this week down the road at my own little plot.

My list of To-Do's for the day... guess how many of these things I actually achieved! (it's a number between 0 and 2).

My list of To-Do’s for the day… guess how many of these things I actually achieved! (it’s a number between 0 and 2).

As always general maintenance and weeding got in the way of most of the tasks, but did priorities the setting up of a self watering system (see below).

But before the boring bit, here are a few pretty photos of things growing…

Broad beans looking good

Broad beans looking good

Close up of the beautiful broad bean flowers.

Close up of the beautiful broad bean flowers.

Last year's rainbow chard - Granny was very happy to receive some the for sunday lunch the other day, and it also makes a very good birthday present for vegetarian friends!

Last year’s rainbow chard – Granny was very happy to receive some the for sunday lunch the other day, and it also makes a very good birthday present for vegetarian friends!

Close up of the yellow rainbow chard. Soon to be eaten to make room for carrots in this year's roots plot.

Close up of the yellow rainbow chard. Soon to be eaten to make room for carrots in this year’s roots plot.

Purple sprouting broccoli - a long wait for veg (I think i planted this about a year ago!) but very tasty!

Purple sprouting broccoli – a long wait for veg (I think i planted this about a year ago!) but very tasty!

Now that it's warmed up, the lettuce is starting to grow.

Now that it’s warmed up, the lettuce is starting to grow.

Job 1: Self-watering system

Something i’ve been meaning to do for a while is to set up a watering system to allow me to use the cold frame, which will let me to grow things under the glass without worrying that the rain won’t reach the plants.

The frame of the cold frame was donated from my dad but was made by my Grampa Croxon from wood from his garden. The glass is from the old greenhouse that's in the allotment. The plan is to set up a mini self-watering system to keep the leeks from drying out.

The frame of the cold frame was donated from my dad but was made by my Grampa Croxon from wood from his garden. The glass is from the old greenhouse that’s in the allotment. The plan is to set up a mini self-watering system to keep the leeks from drying out.

A white X marks the spot where I first drilled a pilot hole and then screwed in a big screw to hold up the bag of water.

A white X marks the spot where I first drilled a pilot hole and then screwed in a big screw to hold up the bag of water.

The watering system that i've had hanging around for a few years, it's finally time to set it up!

The watering system that i’ve had hanging around for a few years, it’s finally time to set it up!

The first couple of drip nozzles attached.

The first couple of drip nozzles attached.

Close up of the leek seedlings and the first drop nozzle.

Close up of the leek seedlings and the first drop nozzle.

Attaching the end plug to pipe.

Attaching the end plug to pipe.

The bag is filled and the four drip nozzles are in place to keep the seedlings happy.

The bag is filled and the four drip nozzles are in place to keep the seedlings happy.

The finished cold frame, ready to catch the next day's sunshine.

The finished cold frame, ready to catch the next day’s sunshine.

The hope that by topping up the reservoir every couple of days i’ll be able to keep things alive.

Job 2: Removing bind weed

One of the weeds i’ve become formilar with since taking on this plot is bind weed. Not one for using chemical deterrents I tend to try and dig things up…

The first shoots of this year's bind weed...

The first shoots of this year’s bind weed…

I always do my best to dig up as much of the offending bind weed that I can by following it carefully...

I always do my best to dig up as much of the offending bind weed that I can by following it carefully…

The problem with is that so much of the bind weed comes through from the neighbours garden by finding it's way under the fence. There's only so much I can remove on my side, and it's frustrating as I know it will keep coming back to wind it's way around the gooseberry, black current and red current that line this wall.

The problem with is that so much of the bind weed comes through from the neighbours garden by finding it’s way under the fence. There’s only so much I can remove on my side, and it’s frustrating as I know it will keep coming back to wind it’s way around the gooseberry, black current and red current that line this wall.

Leave a Reply

