Home

Since I’ve started growing some of my own veg, one of the challenges I’ve faced has been to do justice to the crop during the cooking process. I always try my hardest to turn my veg into something special and with my last two leeks I decided to push the boat out!

Planning to take something special to our trip to the woods on sunday I decided to make leek and goats cheese tarts.

Here is the story of the last two leeks:

The last two leeks of the six that made it.

The last two leeks of the six that made it.

They looked taster than I thought once i'd pulled them up.

They looked taster than I thought once i’d pulled them up.

Chopping up the leeks.

Chopping up the leeks.

Gently sauteed with lots of butter.

Gently sauteed with lots of butter.

Shortcrust pastry cases ready for blind baking.

Shortcrust pastry cases ready for blind baking.

Tart cases filled with sauteed leeks.

Tart cases filled with sauteed leeks.

A crumble of goats cheese.

A crumble of goats cheese.

The tarts fresh out of the oven. The egg + cream filling rose nicely!

The tarts fresh out of the oven. The egg + cream filling rose nicely!

Fire pit + old wine rack makes a very good tart warming device!

Fire pit + old wine rack makes a very good tart warming device!

The finished article, leek and goats cheese tart.

The finished article, leek and goats cheese tart.

A happy customer!

A happy customer!

2 thoughts on “Leeks: From Plot to Plate

Leave a Reply

