Home

There was no friday for working outside last week as I was down in Bournemouth with work on a ‘4 Days to Launch’ away week. I’m an interaction designer at the agency Mint Digital and you can see what the 3 teams produced on our blog post ‘What we made at 4D2L

Work having returned to normal this week, I prepared to spend another productive and educational day at OrganicLea on my Friday off. However, having packed my panier with both a clean and dirty set of clothes (I got rather muddy last time!) I got sidetracked by something at the bottom of the road. The council were pollarding the trees on my street, and not wanting to pass up the opportunity for free gardening material, I stopped and asked them if it was ok to take some of the wood they had chipped up. They said that was fine, so I returned to the flat to collect… a wheelie bin! Luckily our recycling had been taken that morning, so we had an empty bin which was perfect for wheeling down the road, getting filled up by the chippings from the tree and then wheeling to the front of the T&RA house.

So my plans then changed from a day at OrganicLea to a day at the allotment. I’d left a few tidying up jobs after making the new raised beds, so this gave me the opportunity to sort stuff out. It won’t make a very exicting blog post but i’m going to document it anyways.

My hoard from the council tree surgens, a wheelie bin full of free tree chippings. I wouldn't say this was a good as the stuff Organic Lea use, but it will do very nicely to keep the weeds down on my paths.

My hoard from the council tree surgeons, a wheelie bin full of free tree chippings. I wouldn’t say this was a good as the stuff Organic Lea use, but it will do very nicely to keep the weeds down on my paths.

The jobs I needed to complete at the allotment were:

  1. Try and deter mr fox 
  2. Remove the pile of weeds i’d dug up for the new raised beds
  3. Transfer the newly collected chippings through into the allotments for us to use.

Job 1: Deter mr fox

We have a resident fox who I have disturbed from his peaceful hang out the last 3 times I went to visit the allotment. Just to recap, our allotment is a small patch of space at the back of the local Tenants & Residence Association house attached to the estate where we live. The front half of the garden is for the house, and they turned the last section at the back into 3 little plots for lucky residence. The fox likes to sit in the sun infront of the bamboo plant which he gets to via a hole at the back and via my patch. He likes to dig holes in my beds, mess things up and sometimes leaves me nasty little brown presents which I don’t appreciate  The least I can do is try and deter him from such an inviting site to hang out in, which is what i’ve tried to do…

This is the sort of thing mr fox gets up to, generally making a mess of things, and if i'm really lucky he leaves me a small brown smelly pressent :(

This is the sort of thing mr fox gets up to, generally making a mess of things, and if i’m really lucky he leaves me a small brown smelly pressent : (

Using a fallen pole of bamboo from the garden is my attempt to block off the gap where mr fox gets in (probably more of a visual barrier than anything actually fox proof!)

Using a fallen pole of bamboo from the garden is my attempt to block off the gap where mr fox gets in (probably more of a visual barrier than anything actually fox proof!)

Mr fox likes to chill out by the bamboo so i've tried to make this spot look less inviting with chairs and bramble cuttings.

Mr fox likes to chill out by the bamboo so i’ve tried to make this spot look less inviting with chairs and bramble cuttings.

Job 2: Remove the weeds

I’d been putting this off, as it wasn’t going to be a fun job, and as with all not-fun-jobs, it’s even more not-fun when you leave things out in the rain, and they gett soggy & muddy!

The job i'd been putting off, transferring the wheelbarrow full of weeds and mud through the T&RA house and gifting them to the council green waste wheelie bin. Using the old compost bag it took 6 trips back and forth (mud is heavy!).

The job i’d been putting off, transferring the wheelbarrow full of weeds and mud through the T&RA house and gifting them to the council green waste wheelie bin. Using the old compost bag it took 6 trips back and forth (mud is heavy!).

Job 3: Bring the chippings through to the allotment

With each return trip from the front to the back of the house once i’d deposited the weeds into the council wheelie bin, I brought back a bag of the chippings. The hardest thing about this job is the fact that you’ve got to carry the bag of stuff with one hand, while you hold your wellies in the other! (The T&RA house have lovely new carpets which i’m trying very hard not to ruin with mud!).

Transferring the tree chippings from the wheelie bin to the sack, making sure I can still lift it with one hand as I need the other to carry my wellies through the house!

Transferring the tree chippings from the wheelie bin to the sack, making sure I can still lift it with one hand as I need the other to carry my wellies through the house!

The tree chippings were just the thing to add to the very muddy path, the muddier it got, the more likely we allotmenters at the back of the garden are more likely to widen it by stepping on garden either side.

The tree chippings were just the thing to add to the very muddy path.

I used the first load of chippings along the path that leads to where the allotment plots are, and rest i’ve left back there (covered) for using on the paths once i’ve sorted out a decent membrane and done the worst of the weeding.

(P.S. There’ll be no post next week as i’m on holiday)

4 thoughts on “Impromptu Allotment Day

    • Thanks! I should have got two wheelie bins full as it’s been such a great material but now i’ve used it all up! I hope you found some local to you in the end, Alice.

  1. Al, sounds like you have a classic urban himan wildlife conflict issue 🙂 should have been at the Earthwatch lecture the other night to learn more… Glad to see u keeping well. Am I allowed to try some of the produce of all this hard work when I get back? 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

